Orange You Glad I Didn’t Say Banana?

Spring is here and that only means one thing, new recipes with fruit flavors.

This weekend I made orange zest and lemon zest cut out cookies with buttercream icing. I used my favorite cut out cookie recipe, found in my post “Sweet Treats”, but instead of vanilla extract I used lemon and orange extracts. I also added the zest of the fruits to each batch for extra flavor and texture.

To decorate these treats I used a vanilla buttercream and the zest of the fruit.

IMG_5771

This recipe is fool proof and a delicious way to switch things up!

Buttercream Recipe:

2 1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons milk

1/2 cup butter

Zest from one fruit

Leave a Reply

